Explaining Phonic Readers 

For young beginner readers (Dandelion Launchers and Dandelion Readers)


For older, catch-up readers (age 8-14)

Most of the phonic books products are designed according to the  British School Phonics Curriculum Guide -  Letters and Sounds 

Click link below to go to individual phase: This guide contains  materials that concentrate on activities to promote speaking and listening skills, phonological awareness and oral blending.

Please also see this:  Notes of Guidance for Practioners and Teachers on the Letters and Sounds Programme

Phase 1 (pre-phonics), 7 aspects of learning

Phase 2 - s, a, t, p, i , n, m, d, g, o, c, k, ck, e, u, r, h, b, f, ff, l, ll, ss. Teaching and practising blending for reading  and segmenting for spelling of VC and CVC words, words of two-syllable words, tricky words

Phase 3 - j, v, w, x, y, z, zz, qu, ch, sh, th, ng, ai, ee, igh, oa, oo, ar, or, ur, ow, oi, ear, air, ure, er, practising blending for reading and segmenting for spelling, tricky words

Phase 4 - consolidate knowledge in Phase 2 and 3, br, bl, cr, cl, nt, mp, .... teaching and practise of the blending for reading and segmenting for spelling of adjacent consonants CVCC, CCVC

Phase 5 - alternative graphemes (spellings) of all sounds already learnt in Phase 2/3

Phase 6 - children become fluent readers and increasingly accurate spellers, teaching of past tense, suffixes, prefixes


Sort by:

There are no products in this collection.